Pinebrook History

Course Origins

Newly arrived from England, May was looking for land on which to build a home. Finding some beautiful property near Springbank that had many trees, a creek, and a stunning view of the mountains, May filed a claim to purchase the land from the Hudson’s Bay Company.

It was May’s son, Roderick, who built the original golf course on the property with designer Otto Anderson in 1947, calling it the “Mayview Golf Course.” May died in 1965, and the course was sold three years later to Wilbur Griffith, who rebuilt it and rechristened it “Pinebrook Golf and Winter Club.” Course reconstruction was completed in 1975.

The Pinebrook Golf & Winter Club was owned and operated by Griffith until 1980, when it was purchased by the club’s members and the name changed to the “Pinebrook Golf and Country Club”.